PRESS RELEASE: Solidarity Statement From Asian American Leaders in Santa Clara County

Media Contact:
Richard Konda, Executive Director, Asian Law Alliance
(408) 287-9710, rkonda@asianlawalliance.org



November 1, 2022

We are deeply troubled by recent political campaign activities designed to evoke fear in Asian
American voters and drive wedges between Asian American and other communities of color. As
Asian American leaders, we condemn divisive, race-baiting and red-baiting campaign tactics. We
stand in solidarity with diverse community groups in Santa Clara County.

We have seen recent campaign activity that perpetuates Asian stereotypes and false accusations,
such as:

● Implying candidates are Communists
● Implying Asian American candidates are affiliated with the government of China,
unpatriotic, and untrustworthy
● Grouping Whites and Asians against Black and Latinx residents
● Disparaging Mexican Americans in Asian media outlets
● Portraying male candidates of color as dangerous
● Darkening the photo of a candidate of color and alleging the candidate is “trying
to silence the Asian American community in San Jose.”

In this climate of anti-Asian hate, we refuse to be pitted against other communities of color. We
refuse to be treated as political pawns or victims. We are tired of being perceived as perpetual
foreigners, with our American patriotism and loyalty doubted. We do not see political power as a
zero-sum game.

We embrace Santa Clara County’s racial and ethnic diversity as a strength. We stand united with
communities of color to support ethical public sector leadership and public policies that benefit
us all.

(Affiliations for identification purposes only.)

● Michael Makoto Honda, former Member of Congress
● Paul Fong, former State Assemblymember
● Ash Kalra, State Assemblymember
● Alex Lee, State Assemblymember
● Evan Low, State Assemblymember
● Otto Lee, Santa Clara County Supervisor
● Margaret Abe-Koga, Councilmember and former Mayor of Mountain View
● Dr. Michael Chang, Asian Pacific American Leadership Institute and former Mayor of
● Ellen Kamei, Mountain View City Councilmember
● Marico Sayoc, Council Member, Town of Los Gatos
● Pearl Cheng, Foothill-DeAnza Community College District Trustee
● Wendy Ho, San Jose-Evergreen Community College District Trustee
● Gilbert Wong, Foothill-De Anza Community College District Trustee
● Naomi Nakano-Matsumoto, Fremont Union High School District Trustee
● Bruce T. Akizuki, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Ralph Leano Atanacio, South Bay Youth Changemakers
● Zahra Billoo, CAIR San Francisco Bay Area
● Erika Boas, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Alex Boyder, Asian American Recovery Services, a Program of HealthRIGHT 360
● Jennifer Briscoe, LMFT
● Melissa R. Cerezo
● Van Dang, Retired Executive
● Hien Duc Do, Ph.D., Professor, SISS, San Jose State University
● Betty Duong
● Akemi Flynn
● Stephen Fugita
● Naoko Fujii, San Jose Japanese American Citizens League (JACL) Member
● Mary Cheryl B. Gloner
● Carmelita (Lita) Gutierrez
● Susan Hayase, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Chris Hioki
● PJ Hirabayashi, Creatives for Compassionate Communities
● Sharon Hirozawa, Nihonmachi Outreach Committee (NOC)
● Tiffany Ho, M.D.
● Jimmy Hong
● Robin Goka Huynh, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Tom Izu, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Aftab Jamil
● Mike Kaku, Japanese American Citizens League, Sequoia Chapter
● Will Kaku, Nihonmachi Outreach Committee
● Carolyn Kameya
● Alice Kawazoe
● Yvonne Y. Kwan, Assistant Professor of Asian American Studies, San Jose State University
● Sarita Kohli, Asian Americans for Community Involvement (AACI)
● Richard Konda, Asian Law Alliance
● Neil Kozuma, San Jose Chapter of the Japanese American Citizens League
● Lucien Kubo, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Nick Kuwada
● Deepka Lalwani, Founder, Indian Business & Professional Women
● Anthony Lê, PVTL MOMENTS
● Lucretia Lee
● Michele Lew
● Camille Llanes-Fontanilla
● Alex Mabanta, Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance, AFL-CIO
● Clarence Madrilejos, Santa Clara County Democratic Party, Director of Endorsements
● Jackie Maruhashi
● Elly Matsumura, PowerSwitch Action
● David K. Mineta
● Derek Miyahara
● Philip Nguyen, Vietnamese American Roundtable
● Trung P. Nguyen, Ph.D., Professor, Asian American Studies, San Jose State University
● S. Kiyasu Nose, Japanese Americans Citizens League (JACL)
● Thomas Oshidari
● Parivar Bay Area
● Angelica Ramos
● Emily Ann Ramos, California Democratic Party API Caucus, Northern Vice-Chair
● Neil Rufino
● Allan Seid, M.D.
● Mary Seid
● Vanessa Shieh
● Silicon Valley Asian Pacific American Democratic Club (SVAPADC)
● Jason Su
● Bonnie Sugiyama
● Lorna Sumaraga, Chair, Southbay APALA (Asian & Pacific American Labor Alliance)
● Masao Suzuki, Ph.D., Skyline College, Economics
● Victoria Taketa, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Edwin Tan, Ph.D.
● Barry Tao
● Gregory K. Tanaka, San Jose City College
● Buu Thai
● Margaret Toita
● Huy Tran, Justice at Work Law Group, LLP
● Marjorie Tsuji, Japanese American Citizens League
● Mari Ueda-Tao
● Wisa Uemura, San Jose Taiko
● Warren Uesato, San Jose Nikkei Resisters
● Quyen Vuong
● Lusi Wang, South Bay Youth Changemakers
● T. Chester Wang
● Belle Wei
● Gordon Yamate
● Connie Young Yu
● John Zhao, South Bay Youth Changemakers